Track List:

  1. Chemical Truce Overture

  2. Landslide

  3. Way Of The World

  4. The Ballad Of The Pallbearer

  5. The Way I Feel For You Tonight (for S.C)

  6. Wake My Life

  7. Come Over Tonight

  8. Baby Moves Slow

  9. Speed Rider

  10. Just Another Saturday Night

  11. The 11th Day Of The Fourth Month 1980

  12. Pick Up A Smile

  13. The Waves

  14. With A Carving Of The Devil On The Top Of It

  15. Letter To The Future Overture

  16. Dan The Wildcatter

  17. Dog Daze

  18. Better Than You Think (You Are) (for K.M)

  19. Where From Here

  20. The Wolf Who Cried Boy

  21. Slow Boat

  22. The Moleskine Instrumental

  23. So, So Long

  24. Home

  25. Francy

  26. Wonder Why

  27. The Macguffin

  28. Bluff

  29. Mistaker

  30. Adalade's Descant

  31. Take It On A Roll

  32. Carrie

  33. Vector Ball

  34. Kokakola

  35. She Left New York

  36. The Rough Guide

  37. Leinster Square Theme IV

  38. Caveat Emptor 

Prequel album

Absent At The Moment When He Took Up The Most Space (Selected Recordings 1997 - 2005)


The becoming of the artist Kevin Nolan;

A search for authenticity with the help of a time machine.


Dublin-born singer-composer-author Kevin Nolan is known for a dark, theatrical style, and dramatic tour de force. After the success of his debut album Fredrick & the Golden Dawn, released in 2014 to European critical acclaim, Nolan returned to his studio to make his next album. However, knee-deep into the second album, he decided to pause and cast his eye back at the recordings he made before Fredrick, that he himself had not listened to since he began work on the debut in 2006.


Pre-internet self-taught and recording everything on his own, “Absent At The Moment When He Took Up The Most Space” is a selection of recordings Nolan made between ‘97 and ‘05. The thirty eight songs that make up this album are taken from Nolan’s archive of over 150 recorded during that period; none of which were ever released.


“It's been over 20 years since the earliest of these recordings. In that time, I have learnt more and more about my process and the different ways I have tried to understand it over time. I see these songs as a significant part of my growth as an artist, I simply would not be the artist I am without first being the artist I was. And so in a way, I am paying my respects to a former self. I see this time as an immensely significant part of, and integral to, any reading of my work as a whole thus far, first and foremost for myself.”   


Nolan began writing and recording his songs from the age of thirteen with recording techniques of his own invention till he eventually he moved to a mini disc and then to recording on an analogue four-track at sixteen years old. Over years, he progressed from the Yamaha 4-track to a Roland 8-track. The tracks on this retrospective album range from a cappella harmonies to comical ditties, morose melodic folk meditations, rock-pop, jazz, electronica among many others; each giving an insight as to the many paths Nolan took to learn his craft. Over the years through a kind of visceral learning period of trial and error, the artist developed his own very individual understanding of both the different recording techniques and the many musical instruments he plays, relying completely on his own sensibilities.


Almost twenty years on, Nolan has decided to release these recordings in an effort to both map his musical chronology and also re-understand his work in the light of today, applying the musical wisdom he has gained since to the innocence that created it. Nolan has cited Rilke’s Letters To A Young Poet when explaining his latest retrospective offering. He understands this release as a return to a past self. For him, these songs are letters from his younger self to his present self, which will most definitely inform his future understandings. For avid fans of Nolan’s work, traces of his debut album are to be found in some of these early songs.


Kevin Nolan’s retrospective release “Absent At The Moment When He Took Up The Most Space” will be available on all good internet stores, iTunes, Amazon, Spotify etc., from the 26th July 2018 and shortly after on Double Vinyl Record.


  • Facebook
  • Twitter
  • YouTube
  • Instagram

Safety, Health & Strength 

For Press / Bookings, you can also email: